L’Isle-sur-la-Sorgue – Sunday Market

One of the best things about Provence is its markets, in a different town each day of the week. My favorite and one of the biggest markets – antique and brocante – is in L’Isle sur-la Sorgue on Sundays. To get a parking place you must go early. Sippers will remember having coffee and croissants at the Cafe de France (near the church and the flower market) as we watched the vendors set up. Maggie and I did that as well – and sketched as we took it all in. The markets in Provence are hard to beat, and especially this one.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Those of you who followed our blog from Provence last summer may remember the picture of the red shoes set out all down a street. This is from the same place this year and is for a store at the end of the street. It’s off the main path of shoppers, but this certainly brings them in.

Image

 

9 thoughts on “L’Isle-sur-la-Sorgue – Sunday Market

  1. Love the new take on shoe path! I will send you my shopping list! Eat lots o’dessert for me. Keep up the wonderful painting – delightful images:)

  2. Wondrous images: delightful photos and your always-splendid watercolors capturing the Beauty and Joy. Merci beaucoup Mary Ann for this post and all your Provence posts: a great gift to me and to all~

  3. Love it. I’m always so amazed at how much u achieve in a small time slot. Let me know if u get get this reply.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • Yes, I did get it. I missed you painting with me in Provence and look forward to getting together next week, mon amie. And no, I didn’t paint the shoes.

Leave a comment