Left-handed Challenge

Several weeks ago I was faced with having shoulder surgery – rotator cuff and a lot of other thing I can’t pronounce nor understand. It was my dominant right arm, and I would be without the use of it for at least 6 weeks. A friend said to me, “How will you do without drawing for so long?” So…. after thinking long and hard, I set myself a challenge:  I will attempt to do 100 People in 6 Weeks with my left hand! I put it out to all our Cafe Sketchers, but only 1 took me up on it. (And I haven’t seen any of hers yet!) It’s a little over halfway now, and the challenge has been modified. I can’t drive or even go out in public much in my XX-sized clothes I must wear for my arm and its 24/7 contraption loosely called “a sling.” Therefore, I don’t see many people to draw. So it became “100 Drawings” and since I’ve only managed to do about 25 so far, it will probably fall far short of 100. (I have read about 25 wonderful books, however!) I added haikus to my pictures because they are fun, and it gave me something to do during those long wakeful hours in the recliner during the night.

It’s been fun, and now that I’m sharing, I encourage you to try it. If you do, send them to me. I won’t share them if you say not to, but it may give someone else a boost – or at least a laugh!

Scan 3.jpeg

Scan 4.jpeg

Scan 5.jpeg

Scan 6.jpeg

Scan 7.jpeg

Scan 8.jpeg

Scan 9.jpeg

Scan 11.jpeg

22 thoughts on “Left-handed Challenge

  1. Your ‘lefties’ are way better than many of my ‘righties’.

    Best wishes on your recovery and rehab….and kudos to wanting to keep in touch. Overcoming boredom is big challenge after surgery. Do you ever use any of the online sources for drawing people, like sktchy.com? also quickposes.com.

    Keep drawing!

    Pat

    ________________________________

  2. What a beautiful way to make recovery more bearable. Lovely haikus & drawings! Get well soon.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Heal quickly. Amazing that you sketch so well left handed. I am still practicing the art of watercolor and sketching. Thank you for starting me on my path!

  4. Well, you are doing a LOT better than I would!! Just fabulous Mary Ann. I even recognized Dale before reading the title!!!! Keep it up and yes, I’m gonna have to try it.

  5. Much better than what I could do with my dominant hand!! Hope you heal quickly and will be back to your active life SOON!!! Miss you! Carole

  6. Good morning! Not bad for a “lefty”! Actually amazing……

    My knee is much better. Have to get to 90 degree angle by next week I believe. About 83 today. They say I am fairing well. Will be a happy camper when I can get back to normal. My niece has been here this week. Nice to have her help. She’ll go home Saturday and then it’s back to “get busy Barbara”. : )

    Take good care and get those six weeks behind you.

    >

  7. Mary Ann . . . You do amazing creations even left-handed!  I bet you could do it with your toes!  😉 Have a good time healing.Beverly

    From: Sketchers in Provence To: anniemack127@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, May 22, 2017 1:01 PM Subject: [New post] Left-handed Challenge #yiv1788515194 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv1788515194 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv1788515194 a.yiv1788515194primaryactionlink:link, #yiv1788515194 a.yiv1788515194primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv1788515194 a.yiv1788515194primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv1788515194 a.yiv1788515194primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv1788515194 WordPress.com | Mary Ann posted: “Several weeks ago I was faced with having shoulder surgery – rotator cuff and a lot of other thing I can’t pronounce nor understand. It was my dominant right arm, and I would be without the use of it for at least 6 weeks. A friend said to me, “How will yo” | |

  8. I must say I am impressed with the talent and dexterity of using your less dominant hand. to produce such stunning results. There is much to be admired with your tenacious spirit to keep moving ahead.
    Best wishes on your recovery.

  9. Sue, I tried to comment on your blog, but it wouldn’t let me. When are you going to write that cookbook? Your recipes are fabulous. Remember, I’d love to illustrate it! Coming to Minnesota in July.

Leave a Reply

